Sleeping with Ghosts

|diaryland.com||Archives|| Latest |

jessica rabbit, eat your heart out

2001-10-29 - 7:51 p.m.

currently: dancing in my seat

*listening to New Order's 60 Miles an Hour*

I'd like to thank the academy of BS for granting me enough knowledge to get a 93% on my Literature midterm. Thank you, thank you... you're too kind. *tear*
How I managed to pull that off, I'll never know.
Joy, another paper due Wednesday in that class.
One midterm left. That's tomorrow.

I work from 6am to 1:30 tomorrow, as well. With my least favorite person, too. Wonderful. That means, I'll be busting my ass for 4-5 hours getting all the new releases out, then be stuck in customer service the rest of the time. There was a time when customer service didn't bother me. I've learned how to help people and be useful to them. Now, I fucking dread it because I'm evaluated every other minute. Pressure does not make me a better sales person; it only makes me worse. When the fuck are they going to realize that? Also, this is a noncommision job, yet I'm asked to sell stuff to people that I know they really don't want or have any interest in buying. I enjoy recommending stuff that's useful to people once I get to know them, but I'll never grow accustomed to asking people to buy shit even I know is a waste of money. That's retail, I know, but it sucks ass. When working a noncommision job, there's no incentive to sell crap to people other than "you get to keep your job." Gee, that's relief--for a minute, we might actually be kidding the customers into believing we offer them items with their best interests at heart! We even have to tell people that we're not on commision. As if people are so fucking stupid as to believe we're selling stuff to them for the hell of it. Even telling them that we're not on commision is a lie right now. One of my jackass leaders has a contest going on in which the person that sells the most useless crap gets a prize. That's a reward, that's incentive, that's commision, right? Goddamn, my place of employment's lack of logic is astounding!

Trying not to let things get to me. Trying not to think about how shitty tomorrow is going to go. Trying to focus on the music in my ears. Trying to think about Hallowe'en. Trying to pray I pass my last midterm. I try... yes, I will give it a shot.

And for the record, I hate my voice, too, Foxy. But for some reason, I love to sing. Don't do it in front of people very much. Too embarrassing. My stupid soprano turned alto, piece of shit voice. I sing in my room, while the music's blaring. I sing in the car with the window's rolled up tight. I never sing in the shower, even when no one's home. Sometimes, I stand in the bathroom and sing a few lines from old 20-30s tunes. Gotta appreciate the sound in a bathroom.
ya had plently money 1922, now you let other women make a fool of you. why don't you do right, like some other men do?


where you go, I go. - 2013-03-17
leave me the way I was - 2012-11-08
Never Flicker - 2012-11-03
Sis boom bah - 2012-11-02
Like a rusty needle in your eye - 2012-08-07

lost - data