Sleeping with Ghosts

|diaryland.com||Archives|| Latest |

polarity

2001-12-13 - 3:44 p.m.

currently: Almost giddy

*listening to myself sighing*

Only one final left. Just one. Anthropology. I just ran off a copy of the article it's loosely based upon. 8 pages of Childe babbling about civilization. Greeat... and I'm supposed to write four pages agreeing or disagreeing with him.

God, I am thirsty.

Hmm... I did something rather strange the other day. It was just a normal Tuesday afternoon, I'd come home from work and worked on my Com final. Then, I decided to lie down for a nap, knowing that if I screwed up my sleeping hours it wouldn't hurt me much because I was off the next day. So, I curled up in my bed at about 3PM. I woke up the next morning at 5AM. I'd left my alarm set from the previous morning. So, I got up for a little bit and wrote a few e-mails, gulped down some water, and went back to bed (I am not a morning person--and I sure as hell wasn't going to decide to be one on my day off). I later woke up at 11AM.
I had no idea I was that exhausted. But now that I reflect on it, I had only been getting 3 or so hours of sleep for the last few weeks. I didn't feel that tired when I decided to take that nap. I can't believe I blew a whole day sleeping. Even though I love sleep.

Unfortunately, I only got an hour of sleep last night.

This isn't insomnia. I've had bouts of that before. Lying on my pillow for hours on end, worrying and worrying about the stupidest little things.
No, this is not insomnia. When I hit the pillow now, I fall right to sleep. The problem is I've been staying up too late. I'm actually in a pleasant mood, so I don't escape into sleep as I do when I am depressed. And apparently, my body goes along with it for a while, never warning me that it's going to get me back like it did Tuesday.

What an odd little world I am in now. My brain is floating around in a euphoric cloud--ignoring reality and delighting in fantasy. Even with the stress of finals, I've been feeling quite good. I think I owe it all to a sweet boy on the west coast. I even sketched a fox-boy inspired by him. To view it, click here and then click on the first thumbnail image.
I am a creature that needs polarity, and he's been providing it for me in the platonic nature I am comfortable with. I don't see enough of my Kitty to get that stability. I wish I did.

Aside from polarity and a slight case of psychic vampirism, I'm completely neutral right now.

Maybe that long sleep healed me a little bit and finally let me open my eyes wide again.


where you go, I go. - 2013-03-17
leave me the way I was - 2012-11-08
Never Flicker - 2012-11-03
Sis boom bah - 2012-11-02
Like a rusty needle in your eye - 2012-08-07

lost - data